Irish Heritage Month

The Robert Flynn Irish Heritage Festival at Rockland Community College

Originally Funded by the Kurz Family Foundation,
Now funded by RCC Student Activities Fees and the Visual & Performing Arts Department

Begun in 1991, Irish American Heritage Month is an annual, month-long celebration in the United States designed to honor the achievements and contributions of Irish immigrants and their experience in American life and culture. Here at Rockland Community College, we celebrate Irish Heritage through a wee bit of a glimpse of the traditions, culture and spirit of Irish Americans.

In 2015, the Kurz Family Foundation generously donated funds to begin The Robert Flynn Irish Heritage Festival, in honor of William Flynn and Herb Kurz. From that moment on, we have been dedicated to raising funds for philanthropic organizations that are committed to bettering humanity and to doing their part in changing the lives of others.

The festival regularly donates to a multitude of organizations including Habitat for Humanity and a bevy of humanitarian enterprises. However, the largest benefactor of the festival’s contributions continually goes to Concern Worldwide US, in honor of the extraordinary work done by Thomas J. Moran and his unyielding support of the organization. In additional honor of Tom, we have renamed our annual grand performance event, the Thomas J. Moran Crossroads Ceili. (Normally performed annually in the Cultural Arts Theatre)

Thomas J. Moran with three children

Humanitarian and Philanthropist – Thomas J. Moran

Thomas Moran surrounded by children

2021 Irish Heritage Month Events

All events are free and open to the public.

Follow us on FacebookInstagram and LinkedIn as we spotlight RCC personnel who help our students succeed throughout the month.

Upcoming Events

Irish Blessings, Proverbs and Sayings

2021 Irish Heritage Month
Planning Committee Chair

Patty Maloney-Titland

2021 Irish Heritage Month
Planning Committee

Josephine Coleman
Christopher Plummer
Erica Kaplan
Rosemary Witte
Christina Schaudel
Felix Vasquez Ayala
(Student Representative)
Andrew Marcinak
(Alumni/Community Representative)