fbpx

Flex Start Courses

Flex Start Courses

Flexible Starts at RCC

Fall Flex Start registration is open.

You can earn your degree at Rockland Community College with a schedule that works best for your life. There are a diversity of courses available in our Flex Start sessions that include online and evening classes.  You may begin your enrollment in Flex Start 1 which starts at the beginning of a semester or you may begin enrollment in Flex Start 2 which starts about mid-way into the semester. Instructions on how to search for classes in Self-Service Banner are below.

During the Fall 2022 semester, the seven-week courses run from September 1 – October 23 and October 31 – December 21.

During the Spring 2023 semester, the seven-week courses run from January 21 – March 12 and March 27 – May 16.

Interested in additional flexible options? See My Courses – My Way to learn more about 3-week accelerated sessions.

Current Students

To register for upcoming Flex Start courses, current students should contact their Advisor or Student Success at 845-574-4427 or [email protected]. You can be advised online. Once advised, students can register through Self-Service Banner. See Registration Instructions.

New Students

Students have the option to apply as a full-time student or take just a class or two for Flex Start. Please see our page Matriculate or Not? to find out more about your options.

  • You may begin your enrollment in Flex Start 1 which starts at the beginning of a semester or you may begin enrollment in Flex Start 2 which starts about mid-way into the semester.
  • If you wish to seek a degree/certificate and matriculate at RCC, you should complete our online admissions application and/or contact [email protected] for more information.
  • If you are a visiting student and wish to study as non-matriculated student, complete the registration steps outlined here.

How to View Flex Start Courses in Self-Service Banner

Video: How to Register for a Flex Start Course

  1. Go to Schedule of Classes in Self-Service Banner.
  2. Select the term from the drop down list.
    screenshot showing select term drop down list
  3. Use Part of Term to select Flex Start 1 for courses running the first seven weeks of the semester or Flex Start 2 for courses running the last seven weeks of the semester.
    screenshot showing part of term drop down list

Flex Start Academic Calendar

Fall 2022 Flex Start 1: September 1 – October 23
Date Importance
Monday, April 18 Opening for Fall 2022 Registration
Thursday, August 11 Fall 2022 Payment Due Date
Wednesday, August 31 Last Day for 100% Refund for Flex Start 1 Classes
Thursday, September 1 Flex Start 1 Classes Begin
Last Day to Add a Class for Flex Start 1
Monday, September 5 College Closed (Labor Day)
Wednesday, September 7 Last Day for 25% Refund for Flex Start 1 Classes
Friday, September 23 Last Day to Drop with a “W” Grade for Flex Start 1 Classes
Last Day to Request a Pass/Fail or Audit Grade for Flex Start 1 Classes
Tuesday, October 4 –
Wednesday, October 5
No Classes. Offices Open (Yom Kippur)
Monday, October 10 Classes in Session on Columbus Day. Offices Open
Sunday, October 23 Flex Start 1 Classes End
Fall 2022 Flex Start 2: October 31 – December 22
Date Importance
Sunday, October 30 Last Day for 100% Refund for Flex Start 2 Classes
Monday, October 31 Flex Start 2 Classes Begin
Last Day to Add a Class for Flex Start 2
Sunday, November 6 Last Day for 25% refund for Flex Start 2 Classes
Friday, November 11 College Closed (Veteran’s Day)
Sunday, November 20 Last Day to Withdraw with a “W” grade for Flex Start 2 Classes
Last Day to request Pass/Fail or Audit grade for Flex Start 2 Classes
Thursday, November 24 –
Sunday, November 27
College Closed (Thanksgiving)
Thursday, December 22 Flex Start 2 Classes End
Spring 2023 Flex Start 1: January 21 – March 12
Date Importance
Monday, November 14 Tentative Opening of Spring 2023 Registration
Friday, January 20 Last Day for 100% Tuition Refund for Flex Start 1 Classes
Saturday, January 21 Flex Start 1 Classes Begin
Last Day to Add a Class for Flex Start 1
Friday, January 27 Last Day for 25% refund for Flex Start 1 Classes
Friday, February 10 Last Day to Withdraw with a “W” grade for Flex Start 1 Classes
Last Day to request Pass/Fail or Audit grade for Flex Start 1 Classes
Monday, February 20 College Closed (Presidents’ Day)
Sunday, March 12 Flex Start 1 Classes End
Spring 2023 Flex Start 2: March 27 – May16
Date Importance
Sunday, March 26 Last Day for 100% Refund for Flex Start 2 Classes
Monday, March 27 Flex Start 2 Classes Begin
Last Day to Add a Class for Flex Start 2
Sunday, April 2 Last Day for 25% refund for Flex Start 2 Classes
Friday, April 7 –
Sunday, April 9
Passover/Easter Break, No Classes
Friday, April 14 Last Day to Withdraw with a “W” grade for Flex Start 2 Classes
Last Day to request Pass/Fail or Audit grade for Flex Start 2 Classes
Tuesday, May 16 Flex Start 2 Classes End
Wednesday, May 17 –
Thursday, May 18
Reading Days
Wednesday, May 24 Commencement
Monday, May 29 College Closed (Memorial Day)